J2message allows you to communicate with other users in an eSafe, walled garden environment. Teachers can select differing levels of interaction for each class. And don't worry - pupils cannot communicate 1:1 with other pupils!
To access J2message, click the J2message tile on your launchpad:
J2message offers a number of different messaging options: whole school communication (only teachers can message within this message board), class communication and 1:1 teacher to pupil communication.
Choosing a message board
J2message will open into the most recently used message board. You can choose who you would like to communicate with by selecting a message board (left hand side of the J2message screen):
All teaching and registration classes are listed, and by default allow pupil comments, but only teachers will be able to see pupil comments, unless shared (pupils cannot see other pupil comments without the message board settings being unlocked - see below)
Teachers can communicate with pupils 1:1 by selecting them within the individual users tab. Pupils can initiate a conversation with teachers at any time.
Sending a message
To send a message, carefully select the message board you wish to write in by clicking on the class/user name on the left hand side. The message board name will be listed on the top left hand corner of the message board:
To send a message, type in the text box at the bottom of the message board. The formatting tools are listed at the top of the text box. Once you have typed your message, press the green send button to the right of the text box, and your message will appear:
As the sender of the message, your messages will appear in blue. Default message settings in a class message board allow pupils to respond to teacher messages, however other pupils will not be able to see these messages unless shared by the teacher. (other settings are an option - see below)
Once posted to the message board messages have two options:
Delete message : Pupils can delete their own messages, and teachers can delete any message. Please note - All messages are logged in the J2message log (found within the J2dashboard tile), even deleted messages. It is important that all users are made aware of this functionality
Quote message : The quote message option allows you to write a response, quoting the initial message for context:
As a teacher, you also have the option to share pupil messages with the class. This will make the message visible to all users within the message board.
Unlocking the message board settings
As previously explained, message boards are set to allow messages from pupils that are only visible to teachers by default. The message settings can be changed using the message settings (top right of message board):
Teacher tip : If you choose to use an open message board with your class, you might consider only opening the message board when you are online, allowing you to monitor the content and conduct within the message board!
Users will be notified when a new message is received:
If online the user will receive an onscreen notification:
If not online, the user will see a notification on the J2message tile:
When in J2message, a small notification will appear next to the message board that has received the message:
Accessing the J2message log/deleted messages
Sometimes it is necessary to access messages sent e.g. digital safeguarding issues. All messages (even deleted messages) can be accessed via the J2dashboard tile:
Pressing the J2message log button will initiate the download of a csv. file. It may take some time to download!
As J2message is an instant messaging service, schools might like to review their computing/ICT policy. In particular, it is best practice that all staff, students and alternative providers using hardware/software within school sign an Acceptable Use Policy (AUP). Within this it should be outlined that J2message is used within school, how it should be used, and that messages (even deleted) can be accessed. No messages are private. All users should be made aware of this feature.